104 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Way more fun than an escape room
josephlee93610 January 2019
I love how the escape room veteran Danny reminds the audience how lame escape rooms are to contrast it with the real life escape room with actual consequences we get in this movie. It makes the entire movie more fun as you watch the characters solve the puzzles as they try to stay alive. I also liked the fact that the six members of this party were not all kids, something that you certainly could have had in a PG13 suspense film. I thought all six of the characters were good, but I really enjoyed Deborah Ann Woll (Daredevil), who I thought added some gravitas to, again, a PG13 suspense film. It's a fun movie.
12 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great
plet-5404612 January 2019
I loved this movie. It reminded me of Saw. Great action and very good thought out story.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
To my surprise, I enjoyed this movie!
valtierraitza6 January 2019
Went in without watching trailers or reading any background info on it. My friends really wanted to see so I tagged along. With horror movies, I never get my hopes up as it's hard to find a good one these days. I surprisingly really enjoyed the concept of this movie and would consider it more of a thriller. It never bored me and it wasn't gory like the saw films (which I never enjoyed). I liked the characters and their backgrounds.. it was nice to see how they all tied in together. It was a pretty good movie and I'd recommend.
19 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing movie!
emmatween7 January 2019
Don't listen to the snobby critics reviews, this is an amazing and suspenseful movie! I just love the fact that they can make a movie suspenseful,scary, and fun to watch, yet also keeping the pg-13 rating, overall I would definitely recommend you watch it!
33 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A clever cross between Saw and Belko Experiment
alesjonestrader4 January 2019
I saw this film with my wife and in-laws - just a few days after we all went to a an actual "escape room". Astonishingly, everybody including myself was impressed with this film. You know you have a good movie when all generations of a family like it!

The acting was great - but more importantly this film had a great story. It never got boring. A very clever idea to combine aspects of the Saw films with modern escape rooms.

The only criticism I have about this film is that the twist at the end was a bit of a stretch - very difficult to swallow. But Overall - an excellent film.
43 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Pretty awesome movie!
breannamarie-576285 January 2019
My husband and I definitely loved it! We didn't have to see nudity or a bunch of gore everywhere for it to be a great film! The actors did really well with their acting. The ending has a great spin to it! I I can definitely re watch this again and enjoy it like how I did the first time. Love the movie. We are ready for the second one!
36 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The love child of Saw and Cube - which means I love it!
erinaddams7 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Before I start, let me just say that I loved this movie! It had me whiteknuckling the arm-rests and I have no complaints. The characters reminded me a lot of Cube and the way it's all set up reminds me of Saw. I love both of the aforementioned movies, so I was pleased with Escape Room - of course, I could very well see why others might be bothered by it's similarities, but since I have no issues with someone basically merging two of my favorite movies, I'm not upset. I would definitely recommend this movie and the actors, in my opinion, did wonderful jobs.
20 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A much needed reworked Saw movie sans gore and torture
thebricks5 January 2019
I loved the first Saw movie, but got tired of subsequent movies because the gore and torture got a bit too much to watch. It actually was a decent movie and is kind of rewatchable, I'll admit. I did feel at times that the characters were a bit too smart to discover certain things as quickly as they did. Still, for a January release, you expect the worst but it actually was pretty good.

Many of the leads were unlikable, but that's to be expected with budget movies like this. Also, it's written like a teen movie, where people are losers one day, white collar successes the next, which is ridiculous, but that's Hollywood. Getting past this, it still is a pretty good watch and a way to waste two hours.
24 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
very entertaining
lesliejay806 January 2019
Really enjoyed this one. Though films similar to this have been done before, I really enjoyed this one. Really enjoyed the actors in this one.
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
On edge the whole time
geramicaw6 January 2019
This movie was better then expected. It put me in the mind of Final Destination and Saw...?however it didn't finish strong and I lost interest probably like the last 15 to 20 in the end.
15 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Absolutely brilliant!
citrine11296 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Granted movies like this have been done before- saw, a past escape room, etc, but this movie was absolutely brilliant. The characters never did anything wrong (except 1), unlike in SAW, when they all did something wrong or hated life. Instead, these characters are brought together by unfortunate tragedies that led them to have to fight for survival. The characters are not the stereotypical "blonde, stoner, virgin, smart guy, and buff guy." They are all unique and the female leads are so powerful. One served in Iraq and the other is African American studying Quantam Physics. There is also the super smart guy who has played escape rooms many times before. More than one incredibly smart person who is also a virgin. Most of the movie is completely unpredictable and has you on the edge of your seat for most of it. It is so brilliantly played out and has numerous twists and turns I never saw coming. Most horror movies nowadays are predictable or based on jump scares, but this one was completely psychological and made you really feel for the characters. 9/10 beautifully made, coolest horror movie I have seen in a very long time!
15 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
If you like Saw, Final Destination, and Prison Break, you will enjoy Escape Room.
isaaccheng89 January 2019
If you like Saw, Final Destination, Prison Break, video games, VR/AR, Game Theory, Prisoners' Dilemma, and the Uncertainty Principle in quantum physics, you will enjoy this awesome fun thriller. The actions, the set, and the acting are all excellent.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Better than expected
ngaguayo5 January 2019
Can say it was a lot better than expected! Well acted and great plot!

The ending def leads to believe this is a reboot of an older horror/thriller series
24 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Fun
TheTruthDoor4 January 2019
I found "Escape Room" to be a fun movie from start to end. The acting was superb, the plot was interesting.

It does feel a little like a mix of a couple of other films but that did not stop me from enjoying it.

The ending is a bit of a stretch and obviously a setup for a sequel, but it worked.

Go see it for fun!
27 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
So much better than I thought it would be!
ahayesss6 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Whenever a thriller is rated PG-13, I have doubts. However, the first minute of this film keeps you on the edge of your seat, where you stay unti the end. The intensity of the film caused my anxiety to go crazy! The plot also seemed like something that could have been a hit or miss. There have been many films similar to this one, but this one does a nice job of adding never before seen elements. I do have to say, once it got to the point with the final two characters (the drug sequence) it fell a little bit for me. I would still see the sequel though. Another thing that amazed me was the quality of the cinematography and editing. Visually captivating and disturbing. Lastly, I have to give credit to the cast. For not being very well known actors, they all managed to stay in character and portray the feelings of that chaotic experience. Definitely will be watching again!
15 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Engaging
jetstream2211 January 2019
The actors paved the way for excellent twists and turns. Except the ending. It was ehh. I'd probably see a sequel. They're not going to make one.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very good, don't get the bad reviews
calebscottburdett4 January 2019
For a PG-13 Horror movie it's great. It was able to keep your attention and put you on the edge of your seat without the blood and guts. The ending sets it up for a sequel. The movie is a good cross of the Saw series and the Belko Experiment. I'd see it again.
35 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great movie from beginning to end!
justhe-733594 January 2019
Not once did I feel bored watching this movie. The whole movie kept me entertained and trying to figure out how to escape along with them. Def a good movie to see in the theater or at home.
29 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Psychological Thriller
valeriesolarez12 January 2019
The whole concept of the movie is reminiscent of the Jigsaw movies which has been done before but after seeing it in theaters it is so worth the watch. In my opinion I believe it is a great film full of suspense and has your mind working the entire time trying to figure out the puzzles yourself. Highly recommend.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Escape Room
lukehasenfus4 January 2019
This movie is a fun joy ride and is something that won't waste your time. Although it isn't Oscar worthy, it is a film that is enjoying to watch and get excited about. I highly recommend this film to just watch for a good time.
37 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Never been on the edge of my seat throughout the whole movie.
zainmakavelli5 January 2019
Where do I start and where do I end?

I've never been so thrilled by a movie spanning over 90 minutes of suspense. Job well done by the producers and directors. If I could I would give it 11 stars.
21 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Immersive and fresh
andi-mp1311 January 2019
First of all, this movie is fun to watch. The movie feels fresh to me. It keep me at the edge of my seat for most of the movie. The suspense is good but what it lack is that it is maybe too predictable?
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Pretty good
piggulu9 January 2019
As mentioned by others, it the premise is nothing new but it was very entertaining. Might've been a little better if the previews/trailers didn't give the majority of things away, though. I've personally never done an escape room, so I thought the ones given were clever and fun. I'll echo that the ending could've been better (borderline cheap/lazy) but I'm down for a sequel.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Escaping The Normal Slasher/Horror Formula
rgkarim4 January 2019
The age of horror took a major turn when the Saw series unleashed its gory thrills to the Hollywood industry. Sadly, the very edge and gimmicks it brought grew stale, as sequel after sequel appeared to dilute the quality and originality. Soon carbon copies came in, eventually flooding the market with mediocre films that didn't do much to progress the genre. Still, there are always those hopes that some quality still lurks in the chaotic slew that is this genre. Hi, Robbie K here with his first review of the year on the latest Horror movie entitled:

Movie: Escape Room (2019)

Director: Adam Robitel Writers: Bragi F. Schut (screenplay by) (as Bragi Schut), Maria Melnik (screenplay by) Stars: Deborah Ann Woll, Taylor Russell, Tyler Labine

LIKES:

New Twist Attention To Detail/Creativity Good Acting Character Development Story Stuck To Gimmick Suspenseful Energy Short Run Time

SUMMARY: These types of films fall victim to stale presentations and lack of originality. As such, the Escape Room approach was a nice twist on this film bringing with it a new creativity and approach that was refreshing. Each of the rooms had extraordinary detail, planned out to feel like the intense game of survival, filled with snares, baits, and clues to spur the threats on. Such design brought with it new arenas to engage your mind and held much more sustenance. What further advanced the story were the characters, contenders who for once had more dimension than simple, snobbish, cannon fodder that often take center stage. These players held backstories, opportunities to learn, and personalities that evolved with each passing minute. As such, I found myself rooting for the team to succeed instead of rooting for a timely demise to end their flawed personalities. The actors had more room to use their talents to cross the spectrum and do a surprising job expanding upon what was once simple roles. Tying all of this together those, was an engaging story that managed to combine all the backstories, gimmicks, and flair into an engaging cinematic piece that delivered on its promise, but remained interesting on many levels. Uncovering the mysteries, solving the clues, and keeping the energy flowing through the film with a presentation that was filled with anticipation and excitement. Given that they balanced the gimmick with a story it gets bonus points, even more so keeping it in the short run time leads to even more bonus points.

DISLIKES: Cliché A few stretches Wanting More Backstory for some characters Ruined by Trailers

SUMMARY: Sadly, all the planning and details laid out still haven't escaped the cliché and unoriginality that follows these types of films. Escape Room falls into these own sets of traps, but fortunately the spin, ingenuity, and suspense are able to divert the blunt of this area of improvement. One of those that is a bit eye rolling, is that the rooms takes some stretches of the imagination and ignoring reality to get on board. While most of it is acceptable, there are some times I had to turn my brain off extra to get over the unrealistic hurdle. In addition, there was a little bit of adjusting the story order I would have liked to see, placing all the character stories closer to the beginning where their lives were explained in more detail. Had they done this, I feel some of the parts rushed over for me would have been improved, but this minor detail is nothing compared to my big limitation. That much of the story, twists, and fates have been revealed in the trailers to great detail. If you've got a good memory, and watch the trailer with enough focus, you'll get about 60-75% of the movie revealed. So avoid the trailers enough and you will be okay, but otherwise look forward to the last 25% to really give you the last tidbits.

The VERDICT:

This genre is what you pay for, but fortunately Escape Room renews the potential for greatness in this type of movie. With a focus on detail, character designs, and story integration this addition to the group was fantastic for me. It's engaging pace and suspenseful energy will offset most of the film's limitations. Given all the visuals and fun I had, the movie is well worth a trip to the theater and certainly one of the better horror movies to show up in a while, at least in terms of thriller/slasher. I certainly enjoyed this film and look forward to this direction for future installments if possible. My scores are:

Drama/Horror/Mystery: 8.0-8.5 Movie Overall: 6.5-7.0
26 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Enjoyable
jwwalrath-227-854876 January 2019
Escape Room is about a group of strangers invited to participate in a series of escape rooms (for the unaware: group puzzle-solving activities) only to find out they're deadly. Sure, yeah killer traps and rooms have already been done in previous films, but I appreciate the idea of an escape room in general being used as a force of murder considering how popular they are these days. I wasn't sure how this film would turn out based on the previews, but I was pleased with the final product.

Yeah, the movie has some predictable characters and elements, but this is a very polished film. The script, occasional joke without sabotaging the mood, characters, and general direction are all solid. Great main cast all around, better than expected for movies of this type.

A lot of thought goes into the murder rooms, which are all impressively decorated and designed. They are a little over-the-top, but the film manages to explain how they work practically. The challenges and threats all pan out nicely.

The ending, while I wouldn't say it was bad, wasn't ideal for me. To clarify, I'm talking about the wrap-up after the final fight for survival, which works. 1) This final part breaks the tenuous suspension-of-disbelief as the antagonist or antagonists does/do something that seems impossible to pull off even with his/her/their resources. 2) There is a semi-long tacked-on setup for a possible sequel that seems more at home for a big blockbuster than a horror film.

Also, be forewarned that the reveal of the human face/faces to the antagonist/antagonists is a little underwhelming.

I wouldn't say Escape Room is a must-see, but I do recommend it to any horror fan who wants a good time.
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed

 
Star Wars Episodio Los ultimos.. DVD-Screener | SHIPPED FROM OVERSEAS Generic bluerdream-USB-C 3.1 Type C Male To USB 3.0 Cable Adapter OTG Data Sync Charger Charging -Black -20% KSh 160 KSh 200 (1) Buy now | Psychology section